30 Before 30

September 3, 2010 § 2 Comments

To a lot of people, this isn’t a big deal. To others, it’s a huge deal. The expectations leading up to that fated day are high, soaring, or incredibly low. It depends on the person, I guess, and what they want to get out of that day. Do I learn something? Do I not learn something? Do I get lots of shiny baubles? Do my friends forget?

I turn 25 next month.

Which I guess isn’t a big deal.

Except, I let a significant part of my life spiral out of control, which had a snowball effect on the rest of my life. All of these factors are what inspired today’s post.

Here’s my list:

30 Things to Accomplish/Do Before 30

  1. Become financially independent.
  2. Move somewhere nice and affordable not in the Eastern Panhandle or DC Metro Area.
  3. Get a promotion.
  4. Go on a vacation to England.
  5. Go to France.
  6. Go to Asia.
  7. Buy a DSLR for longevity and practicality.
  8. Create a plan to eliminate my debt.
  9. Effectively pay off all revolving credit card debt.
  10. Eliminate clutter and distraction from my living space.
  11. Learn flash photography.
  12. Get something published (photograph, poem, something)
  13. Visit Seattle (and Tominda) again.
  14. Paint a room.
  15. Build a webpage for photography and other various work.
  16. Create a portfolio.
  17. Improve upon created portfolio.
  18. See Erika!
  19. Learn to let go and just have a good time.
  20. Make a large investment in my future.
  21. Make a large investment in general.
  22. Adopt a second dog.
  23. Pay off my car.
  24. Learn to knit and subsequently knit something.
  25. Lose 50 pounds.
  26. Learn to sew a button.
  27. Visit the Grand Canyon.
  28. Say hello to a stranger.
  29. Learn to hardboil an egg.
  30. Swim in the ocean.

A lot of these don’t seem exceptional, but given that I’ve wanted to do them and haven’t in the past 10+ years says a lot. I need to find the time to do everything I’ve wanted to.

One of those is already crossed off. More on that later.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to 30 Before 30

  • MWalker says:

    I realized when I turned 30 in February that I wasted my 20s. I didn’t accomplish a whole lot. Then I realized I had placed this insurmountable goals into my psyche. Much of what I wanted to accomplish was based on what I thought others at my age should be doing. Things like buying a house, or having kids. Things like traveling abroad and hiking the AT. Sheesh, it made me depressed. Here I was, married, stuck in a job and trying to pay off a massive credit card debt. According to society, when I turned 30 I was a failure. Then I started to realize that it was my life. That we all have different paths, and we all accomplish different things at different times. I don’t know if it was previously that I thought that I would be somehow “outdated” or “ineligible” at a certain age for things, but that’s changed. If I thru-hike the AT when I’m 60, then more power to me. Rent a cramped apt until I’m 40, then so be it. I don’t know what you believe, or whatever, but I’m a firm believer that God has a place for us. Even on days like today when I’m completely hating my job, I know God wants me right here, right now. Does that make sense? I dunno. Maybe this has been a little cathartic for me today.

    • Steph says:

      I tried to keep my list simple, and to understand that the large things are “maybe”‘s or “not entirely possible”‘s. Like all the travel? I don’t expect to be able to do all of it, but it would be nice.

      I wanted to avoid things like, “get married,” “have kids,” “start my own business.” My list isn’t so much about whether or not I can do it, it’s about all the stuff I’ve been putting off up until this point. There are things I would like to do or have accomplished before I turn 30, so I tried to highlight those things.

      I understand what you mean about how we all have different paths, and I don’t think that I’ll look back and regret NOT accomplishing any of the above mentioned items (except the debt part, but I’m actually working on that).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 30 Before 30 at Rinehart.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

